jump to navigation

#4: The First Hit With a New Baseball Bat January 4, 2012

Posted by Sean in Burritos (and other awesome things).
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I never had much of a future playing baseball, but the one time a year I did get a hit, it was always a great feeling.  The swing, the feeling you get reversing the ball’s trajectory, the ping of the metal bat, the roar of the crowd…  It’s all wonderful.  But it’s almost as if the feeling is intensified with a new bat.

My last year of playing baseball (I was in 7th grade and I played for the Red Sox in a local league, but that’s a story for another day), I didn’t get a hit in my first five games.  Hoping to reverse the trend, I asked my dad if I could get a new bat.  I did some browsing around online and I decided that the best bat for me would be one that was really long (so I could get an even sweet spot on inside and outside pitches), but really light (so I could get better bat speed on it).  I wound up with this bat from DeMarini:

All in all, it was a pretty nice bat, even if I couldn’t hit the side of a barn with it.  I remember my first in-game hit with that bat pretty well (mostly because it was my only hit that season)…  We were playing the Mets, and they didn’t have a good pitcher on the mound.  It was the middle of the game (4th inning?) and I had gotten out to a 2-0 count (which was rare). The next pitch was high and outside, I thought.  The ump called it on the corner, 2-1.  I was feeling pretty good here, I never got on base.  The next pitch looked like it was coming right down the middle–right where I wanted it (…the only place I could hit it–seriously, why would you throw it there? I swing at everything, so you gave me something to hit? Don’t pity me). I could feel my heart beating, I could see the stitches on the ball… Was this it? Was this going to be my first hit of the year? I blinked. I swung. Ping!  Right on the sweet spot!  I ran as hard as I could.  The ball bounced past the pitcher, the shortstop running towards it.  I ran harder.  The shortstop gobbled it up.  I ran harder still.  Plop! I landed on the bag. Pop! The ball landed in the first baseman’s mitt.  I did it! I had finally gotten that hit I had been searching for all summer!  The parents were cheering, the bench was excited! My first base coach low-fived me!  It was the greatest thing that had happened to me in a long while.  And it was all because of my special bat.  It was GLORIOUS.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Reply. Do it.

